PDA

View Full Version : citalopram

Jordzy
26-09-11, 14:29
Hi all

Im new to all this but im hopefully after advice from people who understand... im currently taking 20mg of citalopram for anxiety and depression, i started my course two weeks ago today. I know it takes about two weeks to get into your system but after i experienced some horrible side effects: high levels of anxiety, suicidal thoughts, upset stomach.. stuff like that (which i expected) i started to feel pretty good in the last two or three days but woke up today feeling rock bottom and feel like im in the same place as i started :shrug:

is this normal? will it get better? im due to go to my doctors this week to get a repeat perscription.... all answers appreciated!

thanks
:)

nomorepanic
26-09-11, 14:31
Hi Jordzy

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

Vix86
26-09-11, 14:38
Jordzy, hang in there. Citalopram is an AMAZING drug, and has helped me so much. Everyone is different and has different side effects, and it certainly sounds like you've had a rough time with yours.

Are you taking them mainly for anxiety or depression? Or is it an equal mixture of the two (such a great pair aren't they?!)

When you say you've been having suicidal thoughts, and be honest, is it feelings that you want to die, or more that you might be better off not here because you're struggling to cope? If it's the latter, just hold fast to the belief that you're making some really pro-active steps to help yourself, and have a wonderful life ahead of you. If the former, do this too, but please talk to someone you trust about it and please please please don't do anything to harm yourself. The fact that you're posting on here shows your committed to improving your life, and trust me it will get better.

All the best!

Jordzy
26-09-11, 14:46
hi vix86