PDA

View Full Version : Lost identity and facebook!

Munki
20-10-11, 16:22
Hi guys!

Does anyone else feel this? That they've lost their identity and aren't sure how to 'be'? Do you find that facebook can make you feel inadequate?

It sounds crazy, I know, but since starting my degree I feel more isolated than ever. Granted, its an OU degree so is very isolatory but I could be around a load of people and feel the same. I actually love my own company, as well as being with my fiancee, family and close friends (coffee more than nights out) yet wonder at times if I should still be going out a lot and doing more with my life? Looking at fb at times makes me feel worse. i see people my age who still go out a lot and I put pressure on myself. I worry that I'm a hermit as I don't want to do all that anymore (I partied hard pre 26 - I'm now 36).

I'm getting married next year and we'll hopefully be trying for a family at some stage. Plus I have my degree. I think having walked away from my passion - acting - I just feel at a loss. It had to be done as it makes you so depressed yet I'm more lost than ever. Why can't I just be happy with what I have? With my wonderful family and fiance who loves sitting in and watching boxsets with me :)

I feel so ungrateful yet so lost :(

eva82
20-10-11, 20:23
I think getting married and trying to start a family is so much more significant and rewarding then just going out a lot or partying. I am 29 and got married/started my family when I was young..at 22 years old. I sometimes would feel like a hermit also, when comparing my everyday life to my friends who were out partying all the time. But you k ow what? I would never trade a night at home with my husband and daughter, just sitting watching a movie or cuddled on the couch reading a book to her.