PDA

View Full Version : relatives causing stress

poppi
03-11-11, 12:15
Hi, I'm new to NMP and have read some very useful info so far - thank you! What prompted me on Monday to get on board was a conversation with my brother's wife last weekend. She always has to be centre of attention and I am very frightened I will say the wrong thing and alienate my brother and his young kids. Can anyone give me advice about how to cope? We are meeting up later this month for a couple of days and I just know she will do nothing, talk a lot (mainly about herself), not listen to anyone and I'm trying not to lose sleep over it or panic. I know it sounds like I should not be bothered as we will never change her personality, but I cannot cope with my own feelings about her.

I feel a bit aggrieved as I knew after the 3rd time of meeting her that she just wanted my brother for what she could get - in 20 years of being together I have never seen them hold hands, have a carry on as you do when you are in love (especially in the early days when you are teens),and she treated us like servants whenever they came to stay with us, telling my own kids they didn't need to eat their veg (as I had asked them to) and don't do what your mum says if you don't want to (my kids were 6 and 8 at the time). I spoke to my husband and my mum but they thought I was being bitter and not giving her a chance.

My brother does most of the chores and works full-time while she is part-time and at times I think it his own fault - he is too soft but I do worry about his health and how much he does/how little R+R he is allowed. I have promised my Mum that I will not cause a fight and I mean it. Is deep breathing when I think of her/see her/be in her company the right thing to do or has someone got any other good ideas? Please don't think I'm a jealous big sister but I can't put this situation to the back of my mind never mind ignore it.

:unsure:
poppi x

ditzygirl
03-11-11, 12:33