PDA

View Full Version : My Cipralex experiences -success - sides etc

Cdn_Paul
05-11-11, 17:25
I'm a 33 yr old male and I've been treating my GAD/Depression for the past 10-12 years. I'm not an expert but I thought I'd share my experiences in case it helps others who are starting out or whatever.

EFFEXOR:
I first went to my GP with anxiety troubles years ago and he started me on Effexor XR right away. I wish he gave me a little heads up on what to expect because that is one crappy drug! I nearly crashed my car while driving in the first week. Anyway long story short, I had some pretty intense side effects while taking it. I basically couldn't orgasm and every night I would wake up completely soaked in sweat. I can't remember if it helped too much with the anxiety but i eventually stopped taking it after a couple years. I was on a fairly high dose I think ( 300 mg ? cant remember) and I decided to stop cold turkey. DON'T DO THAT. I felt like hell and after a few days I was running back to the doctor for more pills. Ween yourself off any of these drugs.

CIPRALEX:
A year or so later I went back to a different doctor and wanted to seriously tackle this anxiety problem. He referred me to a psychiatrist. The doc (psychiatrist) started me on 10 mg cipralex, and a small dose of daily clonopin. At first I was pretty tired but he reassured me to keep at it. After a few weeks things got a bit better but still not that great. We phased out the clonopin and upped the dose to 20 mg cipralex. After a few weeks I felt quite a bit better but my energy, particularly mental energy just sucked. Also, it was very difficult to orgasm. Apart from that I don't recall any side effects.

CIPRALEX & WELLBUTRIN