PDA

View Full Version : advise on having time of work due to treatment

markg1977
06-11-11, 10:05
hi all im mark im currently under treatment for hep c im takein a cocktail of three drugs.there interferon ribavirin and a trial drug deb 025 i started the treatment 5 weeks ago im on week 6 i have a very phyical job which is 13 hours aday im a lorry driver i went to the doctors on friday due to feelin very unwell on there drugs theres to many side affects to list but im not well at the mo so i asked for sum time of work and he was very reluctant to let me hav time of he has signed me off for 2 week but said if i couldnt handle the side affects i should concider quitin the treatment,he said that twice i then said theres no way im quitin cause i wana b free frm the hep c and get on with my life.the rreason for this post is cause i want to no where i stand on this cause i really cant cope with doin all them hours and doin the treatment aswell and would a doctor turn round to a cancer patiant and tell them if they cant handle the side affects then mayb they should stop it i dont think so sumhow!! so any advise about this would b very appriated thanx mark

nomorepanic
06-11-11, 10:09
Hi markg1977

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

markg1977
06-11-11, 10:17
hello nicola and big hello to u 2 bab.

Bruno58
06-11-11, 11:25
Hi mark, I would ask to see a different doctor and forget the one you are having trouble with, there's no way I would accept that kind of response from a GP.

I have myself recently changed to another doc as the one I was seeing wasn't doing what I wanted...one visit to another doc at the same surgery and I have an appointment at the hospital next week.