PDA

View Full Version : Taking the bull by the horns

kate
20-04-04, 18:33
This may not seem too big a deal to anyone else, but I'm feeling dead pleased with myself.

I have been feeling SO ill for the last few weeks and yesterday I decided that things had got to change cos I couldn't carry on anymore the way I was feeling. [xx(]

Anyway, as a lot of you will know, I work as a dinner lady 3 hours a day and I really enjoy getting out of the house and I have a good time at work.

Anyway, one of my work mates is now leaving so I applied to do her hours which is 5 and a half per day [:0]

So, to cut a long story short, I have been offered the extra hours and I feel as if I have made a big decision not to just sit back in my cosy 3 hours and to really get myself to move forward.

I know that it is only working in a school kitchen but I will still be getting the school hols off and getting paid more money!!

I feel really proud of myself so thought that I would give myself a BIG pat on the back!! :D:D:D

Kate x

sarah
20-04-04, 18:39
Hiya Kate

You get a massive pat on the back from me too mate..thats great news!!!:D

You say you are 'only' a dinner lady...well thats one up on me mate..im too nuts to be allowed out the house. ;)

When do you start your new hours?

love Sarah
xx[:X]

we arent mad, just the next stage of evolution :)

Meg
20-04-04, 18:56
Dear Kate,

Many congratulations on finding the motivation to even apply for the extra hours when you've been feeling so dismal recently and a great clap for getting it too.

Nothing is an 'only' job. Everyone who is employed is providing a vital service for someone or the job wouldn't exist.
It may not be an academic role but that is not anything really any more. Having you off to look after your kids during holidays is your priority.