PDA

View Full Version : So tired of waking up in a panic :(

Janinel
11-11-11, 08:41
Hi guys, I'm feeling pretty low at the moment. So scared that I have MS or something worse. Keep waking up feeling numb on my left side. Some nights are worse than others. I feel better when I walk around and move my muscles. When I go to work (I'm a chef, long hours on my feet) I don't really have a problem, it's mostly when I sit down, relax or go to sleep! Please tell me someone else has or has had this problem. I feel so scared.

Dazza
11-11-11, 11:12
I totally sympathize with it... I used to get it a lot, but hardly ever now... I get other symptoms.... I used to be scared that I had MS, then once I had an MRI and my doc confirmed no MS, my mind moved onto the next disease / life threatening condition that it could come up with...

Numbness can be down to tension, dehydration... a whole host of totally benign things. :-) Relax more. When I used to get numbness, I used to take a shower to get rid of it...

I recently read a quote that applies so well to anxiety ''what we concentrate on, grows''. ie the more we worry about a symptoms, the worse it gets... I can vouch for this.. I used to get severe chest pains / feel like I was going to pass out... I learned to ignore it... and over time it stoppped... the mind is so powerful!

AllInMyHead
11-11-11, 15:56
Hi there, I wrote quite a long reply on this in a thread started by Starfighter a couple of days ago, have a look at it, it might be useful.

http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=104133

The fact you are fine when you are moving around means it's not MS. Try not to be scared. I was terrified and I turned out to be fine.

Janinel
15-11-11, 19:10
Thanks guys. The numbness actually went away when I stopped using two pillows when sleeping- now I only use one and I feel 100% better in that department!