PDA

View Full Version : How do you deal with your trigger if it's a person?

in7out11
04-12-11, 20:08
I have been sufferering from panic attacks for 11/12 years now and over time i have created more and more triggers. The worst kind i find though are certain people trigger me off. In the past i just avoid them at all costs and thats how i get around it. 2 days ago though my sister moved back home after splitting with her boyfriend and having not lived here for 6 years. Since she moved back in though i find that i cant speak to her and struggle to look at her. I have created a trigger out of my own sister! i don't know what to do this is killing me, please please please can someone give advice?????

MaxHeadroom
04-12-11, 21:18
I don't mind to sound flippant, in7out11. But might it be that it's not so much people triggering you off, but you trigging people off?

You created a trigger out of your sister, you made her an object of anxiety. It's up to you to recognise that her role as trigger is a role you've assigned her. After all, I'm sure she doesn't want to be an anxiety inducing object in your life.

robinhall
05-12-11, 00:13
Hi
You are caught in a very common cycle of fear - You must have felt a lot of anxiety or panic when with certain people - it may have just been coincidental anxiety that you mistakenly attributed to those people - this escalates to you worrying that you might feel anxiety with other people so invariably you do.

You are most likely scanning for the slightest feelings of anxiety when with people so you will exaggerate the sensations which DOES lead to increased anxiety and so on.