PDA

View Full Version : My Story

nstama
06-12-11, 14:51
This is my first time writing in a site like this one but I have read some of your stories and it is very helpful to know that people are going through the same feelings and problems as I am, although I do not wish it upon anybody. So I want to thank you all and to thank this site in general for making it easier to cope with my panic.

I am 19 years old and have not been suffering from panic and anxiety for very long but at times I feel it is getting worse and all I want is for it to stop. I started feeling random bursts of anxiety at the end of my senior year in highschool, but this was not a very big deal. It was almost like a bad version of the butterflies but I knew it wasn't the butterflies because I wasn't excited or nervous about anything, it would just happen. I could deal with that though and did not have much worry about what was to come.

My first panic attack was last summer at my moms house in Oklahoma. It was the summer before my freshman year of college and every doctor I have spoken to believes that the stress of this new experience is what caused it. I disagree because I have been a world traveler for years and have been in situations where I have had to change my surroundings and experiences and I am not nervous about these things. Who knows though. Anyway it was at night and I had fallen into a light sleep and suddenly woke up out of breath and scared. I didn't know why I was scared and out of breath so that only made me more scared. I realized my heart was beating uncontrollably and I was shaking, and had some chest pains. I felt unreal and very weird. For awhile after this experience I felt like something was wrong with my health. After this attack I experienced others during the days and nights and was most of all, extremely afraid of having more.