PDA

View Full Version : still recovered and going strong

sammie
09-12-11, 19:32
hi

back in 2007 i had severe anxiety many of my old posts are still on here and now its hard to believe how bad i was.

i am now still fully recovered no anxiety except in normal anxious situations its hard to believe i was so bad compared to how i am today. someone once said to me when you come through this you will be much stronger i can remember thinking yeah right BUT they were right !!!!

i am now a CBT therapist and love every minute of my job and i think because i have been there i can understand my clients.

so for those doubting recovery DON'T it will come

sam x

happydylbob
09-12-11, 20:24
Thanks for that Sammie, encouraging words did you have CBT? I am currently considering it, also trying relaxation techniques.

bottleblond
09-12-11, 20:56
Sam :yahoo:

Thank you so much for sharing and well done you! :yesyes:

Lisa
xx

eva82
10-12-11, 03:02
Any tips on how you recovered? Did you have therapy? Meds? I'm so happy for you and hope that one day I can also experience recovery!! :)

blue moon
10-12-11, 05:17
Good to hear you are going strong keep it up,CBT does work
Love Petra xx:flowers:

Phill2
10-12-11, 05:57
Well done Sammie
My GP was a sufferer too and because of that she was more help than anyone else.
Understanding is a big part and if you haven't been there you have no hope of fully understanding.
I've been cured for 18 mths now after 5 yrs of hell.
Feels great doesn't it?
Phill :shades:

sammie
10-12-11, 18:10
hi

when the nightmare began i was put on seroxat then olanzapine then mirtazapine and valium none of which helped at all not even the valium ! in fact i think it made me worse. i had all sorts of tests done as the physical symptoms were so bad (lost 4 stone in 3 months) even had a test for a tumour on my adrenal gland all tests clear was told it was anxiety ( the worst my GP had ever seen)