PDA

View Full Version : anxiety

flatterycat
05-06-06, 12:24
Hello

This is my first time posting on here and hope someone can help. I am 37 and a teacher in a primary school.

I have suffered with bouts of anxiety off and on for years. Sometimes I have had to take time off work, sometimes I am able to work with it. For the most part I am fairly free of this awful gut wrenching fear, which apears every now and then for no apparant reason. Currently I am suffering anxiety which came on Saturday. My initial reaction is "oh no, it's back, I'll be ill for so long, it'll never go away" I am trying to think positively and do all the things recommended. Does anyone else find that they can go for long periods of time where they feel 'normal' then get hit with a bout, which feels like you are back in that terrible place?

I have learnt to get past most of the physical symptoms, it's the mental ones that scare me. Is this the same for anyone else? I can't even begin to go through some of the things I think - they can be very scary. I find that if I feel slightly 'odd' I get really scared. Especially when I can't describe how I feel. I have terrible fears of going mad or behaving oddly and imagine all sorts.

I also suffer from mild OCD, which I live with and which gets bad when I am stressed. I take 20mg of Cipramil and have been on these now for a few years.

I hope someone can help, particularly with the 'mental' aspects of it all.

Thanks for reading

Sarah

mickey mouse
05-06-06, 12:53
Sarah,

I've just joined today on hehalf of my attractive daughter who is 28 years old. I'm hoping soon she will have the confidence herself to reply to you. She has similar symtoms as you.