PDA

View Full Version : Newbie introducing herself

Juicy
05-06-06, 21:08
Hi there - My name is Lucy (24 years old) and I have been suffering and I mean suffering with anxiety attacks since I can remember. I can't recall a time in my life to date that I haven't had them. Not only do I have panic attacks I also have social phobia in the way I hate going to social events, eating in restaurants etc, all the things which I would love to do but are too scared to do them often as its such a struggle. I also have a fear of vomiting which if i'm truthful is the worst of all my issues. I'm currently having CBT therapy which is going ok. I just wish there was a magic pill out there that I could take that would sort me out for good.

As a newbie I hope all the above made sense and I hope to hear from all of you soon - Thank you for reading x

jackie
05-06-06, 21:40
wed all love the magic pill but i really think it does not exist

we can offer you a sense that you are not alone here which too can be a blessing

i hope this is enuf

jackie

Southern_Belle
06-06-06, 02:48
Welcome and I know you will find help here. I too have suffered with anxiety for as long as I can remember. You will make alot of friends here.

Bel

JP
06-06-06, 10:42
i know what you mean about the magic pill idea! i want my social phobia to just disappear! i also am curently having CBT and wondered what form yours takes? is it relaxation techniques or is it more graduated exposure ie exposing yourself to situations you find difficult and seeing what happens? would be interested to compare notes!

jp

tisa
06-06-06, 11:37
Hello there - I'm a new member. My name is Karen (29 yrs old). I suffer from anxiety, mainly social anxiety, which recently resulted in me having to leave my job. Like yourself Lucy, I find social events very difficult & find myself avoiding certain situations. I worry that people are looking at me & can tell that I feel anxious & uncomfortable.