PDA

View Full Version : Hello out there

Tim Skyrme
10-01-12, 08:29
OK where do I start?

I have had a bit of a breakdown I guess, just after Xmas I had a real down turn in mood and started having daily panic attacks which have gotten worse. I am currently sat at home when I should be at work, I went back yesterday after the Xmas break and I really could not cope with it.

I went to see the Doctor and she perscribed me the generic Zoloft. I have had anxiety for years following a similar break in my early twenties, I was abusing alcohol and recreational drugs and had a really stressful time at University which ended with me dropping out. Since then I have built a life, I went back to uni and I am now a Lecturer in Higher Ed. Married, to a wonderful and supportive woman and two of the greatest kids in the world, well adjusted and happy.

The job I am currently doing has been tremendously stressful, I have a long commute which I hate and I am out of the house for over 60 hours of the week. The job itself is appalling, it is a private college for non nationals and was really set up as an immigration service, none of the students are passing their exams and the workplace has turned very sour. It is likely that the place is going to be closed down in the next few months. I quit a while ago but have agreed to stay on to finish my courses because I do not want to dump my colleagues in it as they are all decent people going through the same crap I am.