PDA

View Full Version : Really struggling to manage my panic attacks

StressedStudentNurse
11-01-12, 10:19
Hi,

Im a first year student nurse and only started my course in September. I started having my panic attacks shortly after starting my course and I can have as many as 8 in a day and its so exhausting, especially with having to go to lectures. I don't sleep well anymore and I often wake up in the middle of the night having a panic attack. I'm now on placement and quite a few times I've had panic attacks while working. I've been using 'Bach's rescue remedy spray' but its very hit and miss as to whether it works or not. I have tried asking for help via the university and all I have heard from anyone I asked is 'are you sure your right for the course?' They have completely knocked any confidence I had as I have always wanted to do this. University are referring me to occupational health and Im worried im going to get thrown off my course. I spoke to a nurse from there when I was getting a Hepatitis B injection and she asked me if im right for it too. I just don't know what to do anymore. Please can someone advise me on what I can do to control my panic attacks?
Thanks.

sickandtired
11-01-12, 11:01
You could try beta blockers,but they may only help with the physical symptoms....it wont take away the panic completely.If you explain to your doctor about your course etc....he may be able to give you something stronger.
Personally,Ive ended up taking fluoxetine as the panic attacks were happening more frequent and I was becoming agrophobic and depressed.The side effects were rotten for the first 2/3 weeks.(I couldnt have worked as it gave me severe insomnia)...but now Im alot calmer now and havent had a panic attack for 2 weeks.Im afraid there,s no quick easy solution,but I would see the doctor soon,because it certainly saps all your strength and self esteem

StressedStudentNurse
11-01-12, 14:40