PDA

View Full Version : Seeing GP in an hour, anyone around for some quick advice?

Saffycat
11-01-12, 14:45
Hello

I wonder if there's anyone who can advise me?
Quick background..... I have suffered from anxiety for last few years. Last major panic attack was about 3 years ago. I work full time as a teaching assistant have 3 boys. Have been able to get a reasonable grip on anxiety lately. However on 1st day return to work, I know I was extremely over tired (a sure trigger for anxiety) By the afternoon for the 1st time ever I felt a panic attack coming while at work and left. The next 2 days were my worst ever, in constant panic. GP gave me Diazepam which helped immensely.
Now today (still off work btw) I am feeling much better, still underlying anxiety but have been out & about, but I am seeing GP with a view to going on some medication. Beta Blockers or Fluoxetine have been mentioned. I have a BIG fear of taking something & then actually feeling worse. Now should I try something & if so what way would you recommend as above or should I just try to cope with how I am. Although I feel ok now, the thought of going back to work makes me feel panicky again.
Hope I've made some sense, it's just I haven't got long till my appt!
Thanks in advance :)

sickandtired
11-01-12, 14:53
Im on fluoxetine and I wont lie to you...first few weeks are hard....I got all the side effects and more,but everyone is different

If you have time read my diary
http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=105775

dont let it put you off.....I feel great now and havent had a panic attack for 2 weeks......I feel very chilled,in fact,so its working for me.good luck at the docs x

---------- Post added at 14:53 ---------- Previous post was at 14:52 ----------

& beta blockers did nothing for me,but i was only on a low dose 30mg and you have to build it up,so neither are a quick fix really.....I recommend AD's

Saffycat
11-01-12, 15:04