PDA

View Full Version : Should i believe the Dr?!

Worried Girlfriend
13-01-12, 20:21
Hi every one,

I am brand new to this and need some advice.
My boyfriend has been suffering from anxiety attacks for nearly 5 years. Since then they have become more frequent and more severe. He generally gets up in a morning with an attack and it is there all day, when he tries to sleep he can't.

He went on a CBT course for 6 weeks which started to work and now does nothing!

The other day i rang an nhs direct (who sent a paramedic) as it was so bad, he had shooting pains in his chest and lost feeling in his legs, they said it was an anxiety attack.

This morning we went back to the Dr who put him on Citalopram and upped his Diazepam to a stronger dose for when it is needed, he is already on Propanalol twice a day. When he took the Citalopram he felt really sick and tried to rest, when i got home from work he was freezing cold to touch and again lost feeling in his legs so i called the surgery and was told by a Dr that he could be coming down with a viral infection. I don't think this is right...any ideas would be welcomed, does anyone else take these tablets together successfully?

venusbluejeans
13-01-12, 21:13
Hiya,

I take citalopram and also used to take diazapam and propranolol. I used to take them alltogether with no side effects (well apart from each meds particular side effect) they worked well for me when my panic was really bad.

Pipkin
13-01-12, 21:24
Hi there,
Sorry you're all having such a difficult time. You will definitely find that the anti-depressants take a while to work and, in the meantime, the anxiety symptoms can get worse - the symptoms you are describing are classic anxiety.