PDA

View Full Version : For those with panic/anx who went back to work

paula lynne
14-01-12, 23:06
Hello all, long time! I could really use some advice from those of you who have suffered with panic attacks/anxiety/agoraphobia who made the decision to return to work.

Ive had anxiety and severe panic for 11 years, which quickly developed into agoraphobia. I was a neurosurgical nurse, then nurse teacher before I became ill. Im 41 now, and take no meds, have realised my anxiety and panic are linked to my periods. Im ill from ovulation to bleed. Then I have a good 2 weeks when my sensations seem to really subside, and I feel like I can cope, I feel almost "normal"...like I am well again.

Ive been thinking about returning to work part-time, as a nursing auxillary, doing bank work. That way, I can pick my hours and I can choose to work when Im having my good 2 weeks. Its a massive step. My biggest fear is letting people down, not turning up because I feel funny, plus the worry of having anx and panic whilst at work.

Can anyone share any experiences of returning to work please? How did you know the time was right? Did you tell your employer, and is that mandatory? Have you got ill at work because of anxiety and panic and how did you cope? And......is it worth the stress??? I mean, I will actually loose money going back to work. I just dont know if its worth the risk, or all the stress :shrug: Then again, I feel like Im wasting away just being at home......:weep: I love being a mum and wfe, but Ive got this brain and I think its time I pushed my boundaries and expanded my comfort zone......Ive actually got palpatations just writing this!!! Any advice would be appreciated, thanks so much! :)

Hi to all my old pals and a wave to new members :emot-wave:
Paula x

Stormsky
14-01-12, 23:55