PDA

View Full Version : Time off sick for Anxiety

chelley27
16-01-12, 14:34
Hi,

Can anyone tell me what the reasonable amount of time to take off work is please? i have been signed off for 2 weeks with GAD at the moment which is nearly over and i dont feel ready to return just yet, i have having major difficulty sleeping at night time and was wondering if i could go back to my doctor and request a further sick note.
What does everyone think please? anyone else had more than 2 weeks
Sorry i am new to this, only found out i have it before christmas.
Thanks
Chelle

kittikat
16-01-12, 14:55
Hi Chelle, sorry to hear you are having a bad time. I am returning to work tomorrow after 10 weeks off. I suppose it really depends on how you feel, only you will know when you are ready. Did your GP prescribe any meds and book a follow-up appointment for you? Tell them if you don't feel ready, in my opinion you won't do yourself any favours by returning to work too soon.

My GP was gerat and I had regular weekly appointments, really took into account my feelings and symptoms. I am sure things will work out ok for you, just don't rush it, and don't feel guilty about work...I did for the first few weeks and it just made my anxiety worse!!

Good luck x

AngelHeart
16-01-12, 15:06
Are either of you on meds? I've been off 2 weeks this week too and I'm gonna get more off, I'm on fluoxetine but they are giving me really bad side effects and I feel worse now :-( xx

kittikat
16-01-12, 15:12
Are either of you on meds? I've been off 2 weeks this week too and I'm gonna get more off, I'm on fluoxetine but they are giving me really bad side effects and I feel worse now :-( xx