PDA

View Full Version : Am I just a Hypercondriac..?

olivia_connor
16-01-12, 20:05
Hi All...

Im a newbie here as of today, and have posted in the Introduce yourself page if anyone is interested.

I have noticed as of recent that whenever I feel a twinge so to speak it turns into a major panic...

For example, I have a sensitive tooth, and whenever it tingles I panic that it will turn into something more serious, or if I feel faint I panic making me more likely to faint, however I have never actually fainted, just have the feeling I might...

I suffer from tension headaches, and the Dr has me on Methocarbamol (Robaxin) to relieve the tension on my shoulders and stop the headaches, it works about 60% of the time, others I have to take a stong painkiller and lie down, sometimes I get so worked up I often give myself the runs, of im sick, but mostly I just feel sick, the slighest thing sets me off! Its reuining my life!

I have a 2 year old son, and Im a single parent, and I often worry that if something happens to me, what will happen to him, I have nightmares about me becoming so ill I cant look after him!

Im on Citalopram, and have been since June 11 and even though I have never missed a dose, Im wondering if perhaps im on the right medication, I fear all I do is over-react!

I would love for just one day I can function like a normal person..!

Olivia
xxxx

sebinkent
17-01-12, 00:16
Hi Olivia,

You've come to the right place. This site is full of help and advice and the people on here are all going through similar situations to you, so it's really good to know we are not alone. Health anxiety or Hypochondria is not a joke, it can take over your life. Worrying obsessively about your health is not good for the body. I did it everyday for months and the stress in the end caused real problems like insomnia and acid reflux to name a couple...
I know it's hard but you have to try and be positive and chill out..

Jo1981
17-01-12, 06:20