PDA

View Full Version : the more we know the more we fear...

blondinou
19-01-12, 20:59
Ignorance is bliss!! I wish I was someone who didn't know much about health and didn't give it a second thought. A lot of people just go happily through life not thinking about these things, not worrying when they get a weird sensation or fleeting pain, and are just able to dismiss it. Don't you just wish you were one of those?!

As a medical student I have diagnosed myself with dozens of serious conditions over the course of my time at medical school... As soon as I forget about one disease I start to fear another... I have over the past 18 months or so been convinced I have: phaeochromocytoma, SVT, brain tumour, laryngeal oedema, lupus, CSF rhinorrhoea (brain fluid leaking out your nose!), cervical cancer, berry aneurysm, TB, factor V Leiden, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, DVT and PE (clot on the lung), anaemia due to cancer, acanthosis nigricans (skin discolouration that can be a sign of cancer), Hodgkin's lymphoma, diabetes and last but not least pregnancy... I think that's about it!! Apparently 'medical student syndrome' or 'medical student hypochondriasis' is a well known phenomenon haha. So if that isn't a cautionary tale for everyone to stop Googling their symptoms I don't know what is.