PDA

View Full Version : Mental health and employment study - volunteers needed

livs37
24-01-12, 01:57
Hi, I’m a final year Psychology student at Manchester Metropolitan University looking for forum members who would like to take part in my dissertation research project. The research will focus on employment and mental health, with particular attention given to the issue of disclosing a mental health condition to an employer and the potential impact of the impending reforms to incapacity benefit. These are major concerns for many people experiencing mental health difficulties and results from this research could provide valuable insight in to these issues. You do not have to be in employment to take part in the study, the only requirement is that you have some experience of having problems with mental health (past or present).

Participation will involve taking part in either a telephone or instant messenger conversation (whichever you prefer) lasting approximately one hour to discuss mental health and employment. I have chosen this method rather than a survey as I am hoping to gain an understanding of the unique, in-depth experiences of individuals. I believe this is important for the particular research topics I am exploring. I am more than happy to e-mail a copy of the questions you will be asked prior to the conversation on request.

The interview will be recorded and later transcribed for analysis, with the final report reviewed by members of academic staff at the University and potentially subsequently published. All information you provide will not be associated with your name and you will have the option to provide a pseudonym (an alternative name) for this purpose.
As a volunteer, you are free to withdraw from the study at any point. Please just inform me a.s.a.p if you do decide to withdraw (see contact details below), and your information will be removed. Results of the study will be available on request, upon completion of the study in April 2012.