PDA

View Full Version : New

SickOfThis
03-02-12, 22:44
Hi everyone

I'm new to forums but thought it might provide me with some extra support.
I am in my final year at university and am not doing good academically and mentally at the moment. My family has fallen appart (My mum sold the family home and has gone traveling with her new boyfriend and my dad is doing his own thing) after my parents split up about 4 years ago. I am not doing well at university either.

A few years ago I was diagnosed by my psychiatrist as having major depression and a year later got borderline added to that. I am not currently seeing a psych but I see a counsellor who is very helpful. I was put on 60mg of citalopram back then which really helped but went cold turkey and here I am now...relapsed and back on citalopram (20mg)

Last week I self harmed really badly and could see the tissue in my arm. Its healing nicely now but will probably be a nasty scar. I've been trying to get an appointment to see my gp but shes really popular so its a nightmare.

Anyway Im not doing well at the moment and having a lot of trouble with life.

Thanks for reading.

diane07
03-02-12, 22:46
Hi SickOfThis

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

bignik
03-02-12, 23:10
Hi sorry to hear your not doing so good , re the self harm whilst appreciating perhaps a form of release , please dont try fall into this trapped mindset , it can be very difficult one to get out of. Perhaps attending A&E and asking to speak to someone from their mental health team would help you in your crisis moment. Alternatively explain to GP recepyionist you need urgent appointment , my GP if I call any morning will automatically see me before noon , hes very good , normally its 3 weeks for an appointment , taking your fears of deteriotation and last weeks incident they will take you seriously.