PDA

View Full Version : alcohol

CameronG
09-02-12, 20:17
Can u drink on citalopram?

eight days a week
09-02-12, 20:19
Yes but take it easy, it may affect you in ways you don't expect.

I think the leaflet says not to, and lots of doctors will tell you that if you drink on it regularly it will stop the cit working - not sure if that is true or not myself, but that's what they say.

CameronG
09-02-12, 20:22
What do u mean by ways you won't expect lol

screwpanic
09-02-12, 20:28
I have chosen not to since starting, as a result I have lost my beer gut and feel much leaner. Use it as an opportunity to detox for a while. I will no doubt drink again one day but for now I don't miss it.

eight days a week
09-02-12, 20:43
What do u mean by ways you won't expect lol

A very good question!

Please remember I am not a doctor, and this is just my opinion and not medical advice!

It's been years since I took cit, but from what I remember alcohol affected me way more when I was taking it. I also got dizziness as a side effect, and once or twice after just one or two drinks that feeling got really strong.

Cit affects your brain and so does drink, both in different ways. Just be careful your first few times because you don't know how they will interact!

ruth76
10-02-12, 23:10
Hi
I have been on citalopram 30 mg for 2 years slowly going back down to 20 mg. I have drank on them since the beginning you get terrible hangovers the next day if you indulge too much. But I normally miss a dose if I have drank a lot the night before. I found it has affected my alcohol tolerance as I can drink a lot more than I could before which can be dangerous.
I have embarrassed myself several times and have no memory of what I was talking about almost like a blackout. So I am quite careful and dont drink too much but you should be fine if you take it easy. Just make sure you eat before drinking!

miss sleepy
10-02-12, 23:31