PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a newcomer!

kjmuir
20-06-06, 19:53
Hi, I'm new to all this so I hope it all makes sense.

It's great to hear (in a selfish sort of way) that I'm not alone. I've suffered from anxiety for as long as I can remember but it's recently got much worse.

I'm sick of feeling like this. Every ache, pain and gurgle it a sign and the start of my end! The latest is apparently ibs and I've been told that it'll get better when I calm down but I can't calm down for worrying about the ibs ... and so it goes on!

I hate feeling like this. It's like watching the world from a prison and not being able to join it. Will it ever get better? Advice would be greatly received!

kj

eeyorelover
20-06-06, 20:02
Welcome KJ :)
I think that part of my problem was I was always doing for everyone else and I didn't give myself any 'me' time. So don't worry about whether you are being selfish. I have found that most on here (myself included)who have anxiety are people pleasers and I have come to the conclusion that everyone HAS to be selfish sometimes to stay healthy!!! I had to learn to say no and mean it sometimes. Also I had to learn that it doesn't matter if everyone likes me or not!! After all, there are plenty of people that I can't stand and I'll bet they aren't losing any sleep over it - lol
I know that you will find lots of useful info here and a great bunch of people who will support you :)

Sandy
(eeyorelover)

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself. "I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along."

- Elenor Roosevelt

pinkpenny1uk
20-06-06, 20:27
hi kj,
i agree with what eeyorelover says. i too am a people pleaser and i was always worried about what people would think of me if i said no.