PDA

View Full Version : Arghhhhhh, need to have a rant

Little elfin
18-02-12, 12:41
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie on here, never posted on forums before! I've suffered anxiety since I was 17, I'm now 29.

Having one of those weeks (maybe 2 weeks) where everything is soooo scary and the anxiety is making me feel sick are grrrrrrrr. Can't stop obsessing about how I feel. I hate it when anxiety makes you question everything - 'Maybe it's my job' 'Maybe it's my husband' it sends me into a tail spin of more anxiety.

If only I could turn my thoughts off.

I've been having CBT for a few months now, sometimes it really help and after other sessions I feel crap and scared about going back, scared of telling someone how I feel - then I end up having a constant conversation in my head with my T about how I feel.

Arghhhhhhh. Anyone any advice on how to get out of my head? I'm driving myself mad!

L.E
xxx

Ingenious
18-02-12, 23:09
The best thing I have ever done with regards to challenging those annoying streams of thoughts that can cripple us, is something called Mindful Meditation. For me this went so far above and beyond CBT and despite what it sounds like, is not about relaxing or chanting or such things. It is about gently showing yourself how your thoughts arise and how they work, once you see the process suddenly you get so much more freedom to escape from them. So many people won't even consider mindful meditation because they think their minds are too active and they would never "switch off" but ironically they would benefit the most, it's all about seeing that your mind doesn't switch off (hard to explain really unless you try it). I recommend Mindfulness by Mark Williams and Danny Penman, a book with a CD to guide you through the meditation, less than a tenner on Amazon.

cattttt
19-02-12, 08:16