PDA

View Full Version : hi

juzaza
18-02-12, 17:53
Thought I would try and sort myself out for once. Basically I am a 18 year old student who is somewhat of a perfectionist in mostly everything I do- including my training as a middle distance runner. I have never dealt with pressure very well and my family know very well that at particularly stressfull times in the school year or race season I can become very 'emotional' and 'fragile'.
I could cope with being like this up until a few years ago as I just accepted that that was who I was, but since starting A levels I have started to have panic attacks at school and at training for running. My 'episodes' are very distressing and I am finding that they are stopping me from enjoying the things I do (run). The worst part is that they are become more frequent and have started to happen at the most unpredictable of times (I have had two in the last four days).
I feel very alone with what is going on with me as I don't know many people well enough at 6th Form to let them in (as I find it embarrassing). Just thought it would be nice to talk to other people with similar issues to my own. :)

nomorepanic
18-02-12, 17:55
Hi juzaza

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

oneofus
18-02-12, 18:08
Hi juzaza,

I'm sure you'll find many of your ilk, at least one rower iirc; not me though I stick to the rower in the gym. Have you thought about chatting to your doctor, they're always willing to listen and there's no reason not to. Otherwise have a look at some of the self help books on perfectionism, and they're not just Paul Mkenna I can make you rich waste of a paperback.

Just to let you blow your own trumpet what distance and times do run.

One of us

juzaza
18-02-12, 18:29