PDA

View Full Version : hi, can anyone help?

Tessie28
05-05-04, 16:20
my name is teresa and my typing is poor at present because i have fractured my wrist. which is where the tale starts. i am a teacher recently diagnosed with high blood pressure. so 10 days ago i started taking beta blockers - these made me sleepy [|)]in the mornings. then on friday i fell off a chair at school [:o)] the effect was a nasty fracture to my wrist. i then had trouble with the general anaestetic and they had to bring me round and do it by block instead. the experience has left me with panic attacks - first time . i am having a bad time and want to know if this is a common thing to happen after such an experience? my doctor thinks i will be much better after friday when i have the thing checked- possibilty of pining which he and i think is behind the attacks. i am at the point where i have had a normal [but fast] ecg and nearly believe that this will go away.
any ideas would be welcome as none of this is helping the blood pressure.
cheers teresa

Meg
05-05-04, 16:39
Hi Teresa,

Welcome to the site.

The most likely explantation for your PA's is that of a trauma reaction probably on top of a build up of stress over time, leading to high blood pressure but culminating in panic attacks after the shock of the last couple of weeks events .

Once the fracture is settled - you ensure that you take enough time off to heal both body and soul. Treat yourself to a full body aromatherapy massage which will help this process enormously.

Do not feel afraid of the panics attacks - for you they are simply a emotion overload release mechanism which will go as you settle down in yourself. Do not start continually fearing having another one and get into a fear of the fear cycle.

Do read First Steps in the introduction section of this forum.