PDA

View Full Version : I have loads of questions - can anyone help?

lass
24-06-06, 20:04
Sorry, this will be a really long post! I'm relatively new to all this and I am hoping that someone out there may be able to shed a bit of light as to why I am feeling like this and what I can do.

I was feeling so much better after my appointment with consultant on Thursday evening. I had a fantastic day yesterday, really positive and felt much more like my old self. I felt I could put my anxieties over my bowel/tummy symptoms to one side whilst I await a sigmoidoscopy (6-8 weeks).

So why have I woken up this morning feeling so low again?

In my bid for "self help", I have completely cut out alcohol and caffeine. I don't smoke or take any drugs. I am taking St John's Wort, and Fibogel for my IBS symptoms, but that's all. I eat a really healthy diet; loads of organic fruit and veg, wholemeal everything, chicken, fish, not much red meat. I drink 1.5 - 2 litres of water each day, plus herbal teas (peppermint and camomile).

I did have some chocolate last night (quite a big chunk!) - can this affect anxiety?

Does anyone have any informed information about 5HTP - I have been considering this for a while, but is it dangerous if you take something, even herbal, if it's not what you need?

Also B vitamin complex - any recommendations for this?

And can I continue with St Johns Wort if I am taking 5HTP?

At the moment I am contemplating returning to my GP to see what else she can suggest. She gave me sertraline to try, but I took 1/2 tablet for 4 days and it had a really bad effect on me so she advised me to stop. I'm thinking that if antidepressents aren't right for me, then maybe 5HTP isn't right also. (By the way, I stopped the St Johns Wort when I was on the antidepressents).

I have ordered Claire Weekes book, which will hopefully arrive early next week. Meanwhile, any other recommendations of anything I can try will be very gratefully received.