PDA

View Full Version : can i be sacked for calling in sick?

GirlAfraid23
04-03-12, 20:41
Ok so tonight I'm feeling terribly ill. Think I've caught the flu, im achy, sweating and shivering with a chesty cough.
My manager is not good with people calling in sick, i once called in with a fever last year and he said unless you're on your way to hospital you had better be there. So I had to drag myself in. Ive been there a year and a month ish and so far have had 5 or 6 days off. The thing that makes it worse is the fact I called in sick two weeks ago with a chest/sinus infection and bad cough. I never got the cough properly sorted and have been non stop since so think my immune system is especially low because of it. There was blood in my mucus too.
What do you think about calling in sick tomorrow? I really don't want to be sacked.

Recsense
04-03-12, 20:51
I am a recruitment consultant so I understand recruitment law. You are entitled to call in and tell them you are not fit for work, if I was you I would get a doctors note to support it regardless of how long you think you might be off work. Explain to your boss if she says anything that you are suffering from what you had before due to rushing back out of loyalty to he and the company and not fully recovering, it has not worked and now you realize you must recover before you return. Say you hope it will not be too long, tell her you are going to the doctors immediately as you don't want it to interfere with work as much as possible and if she then has an issue, she is a heartless bitch and you are best being sacked and suing for unlawful dismissal.

Just my opinion.

GirlAfraid23
04-03-12, 21:07