View Full Version : Hi im new

Dannii
25-03-12, 10:56
Hello everyone. im new to this. i started taking citalapram last monday and im feeling worse at the min. im taking it for anxiety and since monday i feel constantly anxious.
please could anyone tell me if this will start to ease. ive been on citalapram in the past without these side effects.
xx

nomorepanic
25-03-12, 10:57
Hi Dannii

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.

Please take some time to read the website articles on the left as well for loads of advice and tips.

Pipkin
25-03-12, 11:10
Hi Dannii and :welcome:

It's very common to experience raised anxiety when starting SSRIs and it can feel pretty bad, I know. If you can stick it out, it will pass after a couple of weeks and you should start to feel better.

If it becomes so bad you're thinking of stopping, go back and see your GP as there are things which can help with the physical symptoms.

Take care

Pip xx

nicola1980
25-03-12, 11:34
Hi and welcome, unfortunatly most ADs can make us feel worse before we feel better and heightened anxiety is common but it will pass x x

Vanilla Sky
25-03-12, 21:55
Hi and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Stick with the Citalopram, it gave me my life back :D

Julianne
25-03-12, 22:32
Hello and welcome,

All SSRI antidepressants of which citalopram is one, take 2-4 weeks to kick in and in that time you may get side effects. This is true even though you were on it in the past since it is now out of your system.

If the anxiety doesn't go away go back to your GP, it could be that a more effective antidepressant and anti anxiolytic could be the solution. Citalopram does not always help anxiety and all of these medications affect people in different ways, what is good for one may not be for another so hearing someone say it was wonderful for them is no real help.

Follow your own best advice on this and maybe see your GP again.

Kind thoughts