PDA

View Full Version : Newbie would appreciate thoughts on HA situation

saturdayschild
28-03-12, 13:34
I am a newbie here and until I found this forum I thought that I was going mad. Now I have read some of your posts and also the really helpful article on “health anxiety” I’ve realised that I am not alone. Some of the symptoms described in the article – I was amazed – it could have been describing how I feel, most of the time. I’m really sorry for the long post but would welcome any thoughts.
Im not sure really when it started. I have always been a pessimistic person, expecting the worst. I think it is a family trait, my dad used to have a motto – expect nothing and you will never be disappointed. My Mum is also very superstitious and believes the family never have any good luck. I think these things all influence you when you are growing up. They also brought me up with a great sense of responsibility, as if I have to organise everything and if does not go to plan then it’s my fault. I’m not trying to blame them, just work out why I am like this.
Now I come to think about it the family does have a bit of problem with mental illness, so perhaps I should not be surprised. When I was ten my mother had some sort of nervous breakdown and my father had a breakdown too, round about the same time. They called it manic depression at the time but I’ve since been told that’s now bi-polar. He was on drugs until he died. Everyone seems to think I am remarkably calm and level headed now – if only they knew what went on inside. I did have a bit of depression ten years ago when going through a divorce and got prescribed amitriptyline and had a bit of counselling, only two sessions.