PDA

View Full Version : New to this site and need reassurance

honeyb
31-03-12, 12:22
Hi

Im new to this, and have found this site a great help, to know that i'm not alone. I suffer with Anxiety mainly Health Anxiety and have suffered panic attacks off and on since 1996. To this day I still convince myself that i'm dying and just when I seem to feel better bang it comes back. My symptoms are;
Head pressure
Dizziness
Tingling in head
Strange vision (blurry, Flickering & floaters)
Sensations of being pulled to one side
Palps, ectopics
Chest pain and tightness
Tingling in hands and feet
Nervousness
I can't bare to be alone in case i pass out and no one finds me (especially when it's just me and my little boy)
Scared of driving alone, just in case i pass out.

I wish these feelings would just go. They also seem to get worse if i hear of someone dying too.

Thanks for reading this.
Honey xx

nomorepanic
31-03-12, 12:23
Hi honeyb

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

mollymalloy
31-03-12, 13:17
Hi Honeyb and welcome

I can relate to many of the same symptoms you listed and was also sure that I was dying, had all different bloodtests done, ECG and MRI but they couldn't fine anything wrong with me. I have to admitt that it has taken me a long time to come to terms with the fact that it is anxiety.

Fear is a strange thing, it sometimes pop up when we least expect it and throws for a loop. I was even afraid of feeling afraid. I have come to realize that it all starts with the thought we choose to entertain and then start dwell on. I find that if I stay positive and focused on other things I feel much better.

Glad you have found this site helpful.

Pipkin
31-03-12, 15:06
Hi Honey and :welcome:

You're in good company here with the symptoms you're describing - they are typical of the anxiety symptoms most of us face.