PDA

View Full Version : Citalopram advice. Please help i am new and scared

TJSMITH
06-04-12, 19:12
Hello everyone
I am new to all this and very scared about never returning to old self.
I wasn't going to join as read to many horrer stories which is not good when already fragile.
This is the first time i have suffered real depression folllowing a virus at a time in my life where i should be happy i couldn't understand this place of darkness i have arrived at.
I have been on citalopram for 7 weeks 10mg for 2 weeks at 20mg for last 5 i am now functioning normal but still have a feeling of dread constantly with no reason behind it. Will an increase in dose help lift this more?? in some respects i just exist a horrible feeling with each passing day i feel more hopeless. I dont enjoy anything but can force a smile my family therefore think im making alot of progress unfortunately i dont feel it. Would love good advice please x

Ingenious
06-04-12, 19:53
You need to discuss this with your GP, but there are several options. One is to continue as you are, monitoring your mood and seeing if you just need more time to settle on the medication. Another is to try increasing the dose, your GP will decide if that's worth exploring and how to do it, it might be the aim to reach 40mg for a while and seeing if that helps. Another option is to change medication, though I would imagine most GPs would want to increase dose of the existing one first and try it. Finally, there are other options to run alongside medication, including counselling, therapy, CBT, changes to your diet, exercise etc.

Above all, be patient and be easy on yourself. Recovery can be slow and can take a long time. Sometimes we feel we are not making progress or even going backwards. Take it one step at a time. And please, do keep talking to your GP about how you feel. You are always the best judge of what is working for you and what isn't.

nicola1980
06-04-12, 19:55