PDA

View Full Version : Please advise, soooo frustrated

TJSMITH
09-04-12, 18:55
I am new to all this and so many questions so sorry.
Debating upping my dose but confused as to wether the issues i have will be helped by increase.
I cant stop negative thinking i go through the day now rather than felling trapped in a hole its more like a cloud still hanging around which creates me thinking when will i be able to be myself again, will i ever get better blah blah.
i have been on Citlopram 20mg for over 5 weeks now and yes it got me out of that hole and funtioning, would a bit more put me in a better place?? i struggle everyday to keep smiling (although i can now lol)
Please please advise. I am going to egypt in 5 weeks for my 10th anniversary not even looking forward to that which really upsets me.

morning_blues
09-04-12, 21:34
Hi there, sorry to hear you are still struggling. 5 weeks is still quite early days, and I found that although citalopram got me back on my feet and functioning, I didn't really start to feel better until about 2 months in, and after 3 months was feeling much more like my old self. I remember that earlier on I got really frustrated that I didn't feel better than I did and wondered if an increase in dose would help. My counsellor persuaded me to hang in there and give it time - I guess it's better to give 20mg a chance before rushing to up the dose. Recovery seems to be quite a gradual process and each week seems to be slightly easier than the last (with some ups and downs of course!). Are you having any other treatment such as CBT/counselling at the same time? I found it really helped. I think maybe 5 weeks is quite early to be thinking about your dose - if you can hang in there until the 8 week mark perhaps you can review it then and talk it through with your GP?
Good luck and hope you feel better soon .

Elen
09-04-12, 21:38
Hi TJ

Sounds like you have the worst symptom that we suffer from "impatience".