PDA

View Full Version : About to start Citalopram... 21 year old need advice

Harry1
09-04-12, 20:20
Hi Guys, this is my first post on this site and I am new to the world of forums!

I’m a 21-year-old male suffering from awful anxiety, but mainly panic attacks, which come on out of the blue. I have always suffered from anxiety but it has never stopped me from doing anything and I have never really thought anything of it.

After a few horrendous episodes of panic attacks and having to quit university because I can no longer sit in a lecture, I realized it is getting out of control. Three months ago I was put onto 80mg of Propranolol, which was later downed to 40mg as I didn’t like the constant side effect of been tiered.

I found that Propranolol did nothing for me and a week ago today I contacted my doctor (over the phone because I can not go in without having a panic attack and feeling like I am going to faint), and told her how I was feeling about Propranolol. She suggested that I start some new medication and come off the Propranolol.

She has prescribed me 10mg of Citalopram. I have never taken any anti anxiety medication and to be honest I am very nervous about taking them. So I am asking anyone that has taken them: what was it like? What was the first 24 hours like? Will I feel different in a matter of hours, days or weeks?

I didn’t want to start any medication but I have realized my life has been on hold for the past six months and enough is enough – I want to get back to normal. My goal is to restart university in September.

I would love to hear from anyone regarding Citalopram or just if you have any friendly advice.

Thanks in advanced,

Harry x

gabrielle37
09-04-12, 20:34
welcome Harry.

this is such a wonderful site and will be very helpful to you, it was a godsend to me.