PDA

View Full Version : DVT worries tonight

GirlAfraid23
13-04-12, 22:47
Help guys.
I have a pain in my left calf, a tightness/niggling pain.
Im very worried its a dvt. No swelling, redness or heat that I can see. I'm on the contraceptive pill so I know tat increases my chances.
Should i take a trip to a&e?

Hypo
13-04-12, 22:52
I am not a doctor but I don't think you need to go to A&E for slight calf pain. I get it a lot, sometimes I sleep funny, or I pull something without realising when I walk.

If the pain gets worse by all means call the out of hours doctor or NHS direct, but I wouldnt be rushing to A&E :)

I hope you feel better soon.

nomorepanic
13-04-12, 22:53
Get a hot water bottle on it

Don't think it warrants A&E though

Pipkin
13-04-12, 23:30
Hi there,

You posted about something similar in December - is this the same and did it go away on its own?

Pip x

GirlAfraid23
14-04-12, 17:35
Well despite posting that last night, I still have the worry today. Its a prickly, sharp feeling in the leg which seems to be worse at times than others. I have been able to walk on it today so it isn't that bad but I keep wondering if I do have a dvt & then of course I think it will travel to my lung & kill me.
Apparentley once its there, doctors cant do anything about it.
Should I go to a&e tonight? I'm scared...I have no redness or swelling as yet but I do have a strange twitching sensation in the leg, like restless leg syndrome I suppose, but i dont suffer from that.
I know not everyone experiences the classic symptoms. I am on birth control as mentioned earlier but I don't smoke & I'm not really over weight - maybe slightly but nothing drastic.

nomorepanic
14-04-12, 17:42
No you don't need to go to A&E.

If you are worried call the out of hours doc and let them see you but it doesn't sound like a DVT to me

GirlAfraid23
14-04-12, 17:49
Hi there,

You posted about something similar in December - is this the same and did it go away on its own?

Pip x