PDA

View Full Version : Help i have tonsillitis and cannot sleep :(

sophiehems
14-04-12, 13:50
im 16 its my first time to ever have tonsillitis and im scared, im not sleeping because it hurt. Only my left side is inflamed however it is causing very pain full earache in my left ear, i would like to know if there is anything i can do as i am already using antibiotics i started them today, paracetamol and ibuprofen. i cant eat i cant even drink it hurts that much i'm getting about 3 hours sleep for the past two nights :( is there any way of making my self feel better so i can sleep ?

Kelley
14-04-12, 14:00
Hey.

Sorry to hear your in so much pain! I remember suffering a few bouts of tonsillitis when I was 16 also! The antibiotics really should give you some relief by the morning..if you are taking ibuprofen and paracetamol then there's really nothing else you can have....honey has anti inflammatory properties so maybe take some off a teaspoon and drink cups of tea with honey. You can gargle some salty water to help kill the bacteria too.... Just hang in there, it will get better real soon. You'll be ok. Have a nice bath to relax.

Kel

sophiehems
14-04-12, 22:30
Thank you for your helpful tips but what ever i do the pain wont stop im now going on to night three of not being able to sleep i feel like a zombie nothing's helping im getting worse and worse :(:(

Stormsky
14-04-12, 22:39
Takes a couple days for anti biotics to kick in, you should feel better hopefully by tomorrow night... nothing more you can do for now, try and sleep.. but if you cant , rest assured you will be able to hopefully tomorrow

greywind
14-04-12, 22:46
If you started taking your antibiotics today you should feel noticeably less pain when you try and sleep tomorrow night - but I understand what you're going through I had constantly then ended up having to have them out. If you do get it often I recommend getting them out. It's horrible, but utter f***ing bliss when they're gone.