PDA

View Full Version : I don't know what to do - any advice?

lass
06-07-06, 12:40
Sorry, this will no doubt be a long post as I'm not very good at putting things concisely. Also I am very sad and low at the moment so please don't be dragged down by my sad thoughts ....

For virtually the whole of this year, I have been suffering with a mild on/off abdominal "pain" (not an intense pain, just in a specific place, lasts maybe a minute, comes and goes, nothing I'd need painkillers for or anything), plus a change in bowel habit (alternative constipation/diarrohea). I also have recently had pains on/off up my backside, but I haven't told my GP this yet as haven't seen her since having them.

This has got me really freaked out and in my head is bowel cancer. My father has a history of colitis and bowel polyps (they remove the polyps as can turn cancerous) and I have been told polyps can be hereditary.

So my mind has been working overtime and I am convinced there is something wrong. My GP thinks it is IBS and has been really patient with me - she ran loads of blood tests in April which all came back normal (full blood count, ESR, liver/kidney function, tumour markers, thyroid).

As I was still very worried she referred me for sigmoidoscopy - saying she feels sure it is IBS but I knows I won't relax until I am investigated. I saw the consultant, who says it also sounds like IBS, but will do a sigmoidoscopy to rule out anything else due to my father's history. I am now waiting for this, haven't got an appointment yet.