PDA

View Full Version : I'm almost 24 with no direction in life and little social life...It's depressing!

Mark_P
02-05-12, 13:36
I just don't know what to do any more. I am 24 years old in 3 months and I haven't even got a stable career. My future looks bleak, because I just don't know what to do for a career. I have lots of ideas, but then it means going back to education and possibly going to University.

I haven't thought about going to University, just because I am getting older and want to set up a nice life for myself. I don't particularly want to be going to University at my age. I still live at home with my dad as he's been a single parent since my mum died when I was 13.

I went to college at a later age, when I was 18 years old. So by that time most students are going to Uni. Well anyway, I studied for 3 years (2 years + foundation year) and I passed with average grades, but after I left college I realised that the course I did was not something I wanted to do for the rest of my life. So basically, I wasted 3 years at college doing something that I have lost interest in.

Anyway, I don't want to keep blabbering, but I just feel depressed because I don't have a career path to follow. I feel like I'm falling behind in life, and it really sucks! Not to mention that I have few friends, if any genuine ones. I feel I have 1 or 2 friends who are close, but the other few are not really close friends at all. I can't meet new friends as I work in a dead end job (I'm a building assistant) with 2 other guys who are much older than me.

I feel like I'm at an all time low in my life. I can't even go back to college because I have to pay £1400. This is because I did the previous course at the same college for free, therefore I will have to pay this time around. And I don't even have a concrete idea of what I want as a career.