PDA

View Full Version : Newbie!

annemargaret
13-05-12, 19:55
Hi all. I stumbled upon this site whilst trying to find out what has happened to Promazine, boy am I glad I did! After spending a couple of hours doing lots of reading on here I decided to join...here is my intro! I can't remember how many years I have suffered with GAD & depression, I think way back into my childhood. I'm 58 now, a long time then. I was a teacher until Sept 2004 when I could no longer face going into school. I had been on Prozac a couple of times, had 5mgs of diazepam I took when desperate, co-codamol 500/30 for my lumbar back pain, disc degeneration, pills for blood pressure, pills for cholesterol...but that morning I knew, just knew my panic attack was a massive one! My daughter took me to hospital. The next 4 yrs were hell. I drank too much, hardly went out, let myself go...well I'd been "let go" from my teaching job, I felt worthless. I was seeing a psychiatrist but even on the highest dose of prozac I wasn't really any better. Then I got a new psych. He prescribed promazine. I eventually felt a little calmer. Things stayed at this level until another new psych put me on 45mg Mirtazapine & upped my promazine. I was managing to get out sometimes when the back pain or shakes weren't too bad...even got tothe haidressers! A real biggy...what, me sitting waiting without running away! This carried on...better days, still bad days until 6 mnths ago when yet ANOTHER new psych saw me. She listened patiently whilst I went through my long history, plus the fact that I could no longer get hold of promazine & I wasn't sleeping (oh yes, I forgot the night terrors! worse thing ever...) She told me ther was a manufacturing problem...I nearly had a panic attack right there & then. She explained to me about a drug called Pregablin, which was used for pain & GAD. I was asked if I wanted to try it to replace the promazine & that she had found it worked well with some of her patients for GAD. I agreed.