PDA

View Full Version : Reintroducing Alcohol

brentcat
25-05-12, 17:36
Just wanted to know if anyone has successfully reintroduced alcohol into their diet following a period of panic attacks.
I've been suffering from erratic panic attacks for the last six months, maybe 6 all up.
The most recent has taken me about two weeks to recover from properly, only now just starting to relax and get back into my normal rhythm.
I've been avoiding alcohol, and of course drugs, for the last 2 - 3 months in order to try and overcome and it is killing my social life.
Has anyone had any experience with reintroducing alcohol following a similar period?
How should I go about it?
Should I ease into it? Or is it just a matter of avoiding drinking too much full stop? Or is it not worth it at all?

times71
25-05-12, 20:26
Hi

Assuming your not a raving alcholic then my advice is drink how you would normally drink. If not avoiding something you enjoy doing because your afraid a panic attack will come will make the mere idea of drinking an issue. One thing ive learned is that you need to keep things as normal as you can. If not panics will dictate what you can or cannot do. Being social is more important than worrying if you dare have a drink or not. My advise... go out with your mates, have a drink... and if you feel nervous, ride it through and stick two fingers in the air. so basically, if you enjoy a drink, it is worth it.. cus your not letting the panics decide what you can or cannot do.

good luck dude

Meltdown
25-05-12, 20:40
I agree. I am a pretty light drinker these days, but I enjoy a beer most evenings, and maybe a couple at weekends.

I find that as long as I don't feel hungover the next day, I am usually OK. Hangovers are terrible for palps and panic though...

iHeart
25-05-12, 21:11
Personally I just avoid drinking all together. For a lot of reasons and panic attacks are a big part.

SLjimbo
25-05-12, 22:28