PDA

View Full Version : *New Member* Please Help Me.

Louise1234
21-06-12, 11:40
Hi everyone,

I am new to this and i am so thankful i have found this site. I am 19 years old and i have been getting panic attacks since i was 16. They have completely ruined my life! I havent been to work or out properly for 2 years because i am so frightened! When i start to feel the panic coming i tend to shake, especially my legs, then i feel dizzy and like i cannot breathe, even though i know they cannot harm me, i always think that its not a panic attack and that im actually going to stop breathing and im going to die. I hate living like this, i dont want to be on medication because i am so young i am currently waiting to have CBT Therapy.
This tuesday coming i am starting a hairdressing apprenticeship but i am so scared that im going to have my panic attacks when i am there and i really do not want this to happen. I am wondering if anyone could give me some advice of some ways people have learnt to control the shaking and the panic i would be so so greatful, i cant take no more of my panic attacks they bring me down so much :'( Please help me¬

hanshan
21-06-12, 12:58
Hi Louise,

Keep posting and you will keep getting lots of support and advice.

Can you tell people what medication you have tried or are taking now. They may be able to make some suggestion while you are waiting for CBT.

Louise1234
21-06-12, 14:04
Hi Hanshan,

I really hope i do get some advice and help i feel so lost.

My doctor gave me a low dosage of diazepam i took that for a couple days, it made me feel a little bit relaxed but it didnt stop me from having my panic attacks as i was still having them while taking the diazepam

BobbyDog
21-06-12, 18:34
My son was having this same problem during his last year at highschool.