PDA

View Full Version : Myoclonic jerks is keeping me from sleep!

headinthecloud
26-06-12, 20:03
Hi there I'm new to this and not sure how to go about. I've posted a thread here in 'Health Anxiety' but thinking now that this is a better place for it. After all it is a symptom!

About two months ago I was under a lot of stress (a health scare) for which I was hospitalised for a night and put on some strong antibiotics. Soon as I started the medication I've had these 'hypnic jerks'. It feels like an electric current going up my spine into my head inside somewhere. Every time I try to drift off to sleep I get jerked right out.

That sent me into a tail spin and I went into full anxiety disorder mode: stomach churning, hyperventilating, adrenaline surges... Was VERY UNPLEASANT! I went to see a CBT psychiatrist and he put me on some anti depressants (Mirtazapine) and sleeping tablets (Zopiclone) to help me sleep.

Since then, six weeks into treatment, my anxiety is manageable... But the jerks are STILL THERE! I notice that I'm being jerked OUT of sleep in the morning when the action of the sleeping tablets had worn off.

I think what's bothering me is this: no anxiety disorder textbook list myoclonic jerk as a typical symptom. are the jerks PART OF the disorder, or am I dealing with something that CAUSED it and is completely separate?

My psychiatrist would have me believe that it's a psychological problem. But I can't help thinking there might be a possibility that it's physiological? I don't have a lot of time to investigate as I've already been on sleeping tablets for a month. I just can't sit here and wait another month...

Any suggestions much appreciated!!

PanchoGoz
26-06-12, 21:04
It's not necessarily psychological. He's a psychiatrist, it's his job to give absolutely everything a psychological cause, even if it's a bad case of hiccups.