PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and medication advice needed..

ch3ll3
29-06-12, 23:41
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, nice to meet you all! :)

Firstly I should probably tell you a bit about myself... I am a very fortunate 25 year old with an amazing boyfriend of 7 years and the most beautiful dog, I have a lovely family, a great job, nice house... I have a good life and should be happy... yet my life is dominated by anxiety.

I was diagnosed with anxiety about 4 years ago and I obsessively worry about what seems like everything... my family, my relationship, my health, my past, I get intrusive thoughts, I analyze everything I do and I Google... a lot! (I know.. *slaps wrist*).
Basically in a nutshell I'm a bit of an anxious mess :blush:

Everyday I seem to worry about something but today I reached breaking point when I started doubting my relationship for no reason at all. I love my boyfriend with all my heart so these thoughts, understandably have crushed me and I'm petrified I'll do something I'll regret forever. So after this and 4 years of worrying, I've accepted it's time to do something about it!

Miraculously I have lasted the last 4 years without any treatment. I was given some reading material by my GP 4 years ago which he called 'cognitive behavioral therapy' :huh: and I've tried to treat and deal with it myself. But today's episode has finally made me realise that I might need a bit more help and I'm considering going to my doctor to discuss my options with regards to medication.

Now my problem with this.. and I think one of the reasons it's taken me this long, is that I've never been good with medication of any sort. I avoid it at all costs and will always look for an alternative, natural remedy... I have to be in absolute agony before I'll even agree to take pain relief! :wacko: So this is kind of a big step for me..