PDA

View Full Version : Returning to anxiety - can't cope with big city life

belleville
02-07-12, 09:24
Hi guys,

I've not posted here for a while as I've not really had a great deal to say! I've just been dragging on through life, with low-level anxiety, nothing to write home about in particular.

But at the start of this year, I got a new job in the centre of a large city, had to move out of my parents' home, and into a home of my own. I'm really enjoying living alone, although it does get a little bit lonely every so often as I don't yet know anyone in my new town. (But I do have really fast internet, so who needs friends?! :D) I chose to move to a small town about 10 miles from the city, as I really dislike cities. I wouldn't have taken a job in a city centre at all, but the economic situation means I'd be foolish not to take up an offer of employment.

So I've been travelling to work and back by train for six months, which has been the cause of minor anxiety--you never know if you're going to get a seat, for instance, and the timetable is irregular which means missing a train causes an hour's wait for the next one. And when the train is cancelled, it turns my world upside down, I find myself stranded at work as they never put on any replacement services. I decided, in the end, to stretch my budget and get a small car.