PDA

View Full Version : New to this forum and new to Venlafaxine!

proteus
03-07-12, 20:20
Hey there everyone!

Lately, I've been seeing a psych and she figures that I have ADD and an anxiety disorder of some kind.

She initially put me on Fluoxetine 20mg, which made me feel a bit nervous and didn't really help. I've also tried Sertraline before which seemed to do very little.

She's now decided that I should start taking Venlafaxine, initially taking 37.5mg IR once daily and then upping it to twice daily after a week.

I'm new to all of this, so I have a few questions:

1. I stopped taking the Fluoxetine 20mg yesterday. My psychiatrist says that I only need to wait a day or two before I take the Venlafaxine. Does that sound about right?

2. What should I be expecting to feel during the initial few days/weeks that I take it? (I read the side effect leaflet/the internet and it scared me :ohmy: )

3. Is it effective for social anxiety type problems?

4. Should I take Diazepam with it initially? I've seen this suggested before.

5. Are there any precautions I need to take when I'm on it and past the initial side effects?

6. Exactly how unforgiving is it with regards to missing a dose? Is it so bad that even forgetting to take it once will result in major unhappiness, or do you need to slip up a few times?

Thanks everyone!

- Proteus

Pipkin
03-07-12, 21:16
Hi there and :welcome:!

I take Venlafaxine and whilst I'm no expert, I think I've grown to understand it quite well so I'll try to answer your questions:

1) The NHS guidance states you can stop Fluoxetine one day and start Venlafaxine the next, on a low dose (which 37.5 mg per day is). Your GP's got it right.

2) Common start-up effects are dizziness, nausea and increased anxiety. I've been on this 3 times and it's not too bad but it varies from person to person. Don't be tempted to stop after a few days - stick at it and you'll start to see an improvement.