PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety

Nathan246
06-07-12, 10:18
This is my first time writing on here, iv been taking propranolol 40mg once a day, early evening for about 7 weeks now. A few months ago i had a cold an was feeling strange, anxious so went to doctors, he briefly checked me an prescribed antibiotics. After a few days was feeling better but then a few more days on started feeling very anxious. Phoned doctor an was prescribed propranolol over phone. I havnt had any tests done to see what may be causing anxiety feelings. Was really worried about taking propranolol so went to see doctor he assured me i was ok to take them said it was to do with over production of adrenaline, an also arranged for blood test for thyroid as this maybe cause of anxiety feelings. Results were a bit high so doctor said to repeat in 4 weeks time. Propranolol seems to of calmed down anxiety alot. I have recently had a slight swelling on my gum and have been worrying about it so am seeing doctor this morning.

saab
07-07-12, 19:12
Hi Nathan. I wanted to respond as you are a first time poster.

It just sounds as though you have got yourself in a bit of a state worrying about your health. Thyroid problems are really common and many people take medication for them, so I would just wait and see what the tests say. Again, propanolol is a really commonly prescribed drug, often used for short-term anxiety issues.

Our minds can so easily play tricks on us and produce anxiety at the drop of a hat - even when we aren't in an anxious situation our body can mistakenly produce adrenaline and we can have a surge in panic or low-level anxiety.

Many people cope by trying to 'float' through the anxiety. If you relax, the adrenaline will discharge itself. If you try to fight it, saying, 'Pull yourself together...get a grip" and so on, you produce more adrenaline and feel more anxious.

Good luck with your doctors visit and I hope you feel better soon.

Nathan246
07-07-12, 21:31