PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety about going to work next Monday?

.Poppy.
08-07-12, 00:46
I have posted before regarding the anxiety I feel with my job. I have also posted before about quitting my job and my anxieties about doing so -- I have continued at the job but have finally sent an email saying that I am leaving.

Ultimately, I have bounced back and forth on the quitting issue...but I have a few other things going on in my life and want to focus on me. I'm also starting my junior year of college and with my class load and the workload I'm anticipating, working just isn't a feasible option. I *do* have a savings account, not ample but enough, so I don't have to work right now -- though the money was nice.

Anyway, I emailed my boss. I work in a restaurant and it can be quite fast-paced, so I figured an email would be nice to get out what I really needed to say without being pressed for time like I would be in person. I emailed him last night and am constantly checking for a response - nothing yet. I imagine he'll respond in a day or so, but I am afraid that he won't before I come into work and he'll either not know what I'm talking about, or will read it during work and feel blindsighted.

I know that I can be easily replaced in this job, but I come from a small town so I'm not used to being so anonymous...and I hate the feeling that they will be upset/disappointed and/or that I'm letting them down. I also hate the idea that since I'm shy, speaking to my bosses in person will be really awkward.

Anyway -- I never mean for these to be so long, but I needed to vent. My family doesn't understand why I'm so upset, and I can't often put my finger on it either. I just need some words of encouragement. I've also started having short panic attacks where I feel I can't quite breathe -- which isn't normal for me, even with my anxieties. I've had them before, but long ago, which to me just shows how stressed about this I really am.

Thank you :)

dabrucru
08-07-12, 12:57