PDA

View Full Version : Starting a new job in september and scared!

GirlAfraid23
14-07-12, 12:41
Hi Guys,

I have just been appointed a new job as a learning support assistant in a primary school. There were 70 applications and I was the one who got the job so I suppose that's a feat in itself really!

Its going to be working with a visually impaired child one to one in a reception class. Its only part time but I'm worried about it already. I've never had a job in a school before, only voluntary and my other work has been retail based...Also working with a visually impaired pupils is going to be a challenge too!
Can anyone offer any advice?

.Poppy.
15-07-12, 02:19
Congrats on getting the job!

I work in a restaurant and remember my first day - I was terrified. It's very easy to be scared of something so huge, and suffering from anxiety will just make it worse. Be confident; there's a reason you got this job- you earned it!

As far as on-the-job advice, be patient. If the job is part-time, I'm assuming that you are working under the full-time teacher? If so, don't be afraid to ask questions. Better safe than sorry. My mother is a special education teacher and she says the biggest fault she finds in new employees is that they are often overconfident to the point of being cocky, and believe that they know everything. Teachers will be happy to answer questions and explain things to you if you need it, and they will be elated to share their experience and knowledge. I'm sure the child is wonderful and after living with a visual impairment is already very steady in how to function in the world, so you may be surprised.

Good luck!

terror-x
15-07-12, 02:36
I'm currently in a way working 1 to 1 with our new apprentice and I don't want to sou d to harsh but at the minute he's doing my head in but I'm sure I'll get through it .