PDA

View Full Version : Terrible trip to supermarket has knocked my confidence in going out with my husband

Aubrey
23-07-12, 14:20
Whenever i go out, it takes me around 10-20 minutes to make myself feel comfortable and to go to the toilet in preperation for the trip - whether its an hours drive or a 5 minute walk. I've always been able to deal with going into certain scary situations and tend to keep my cool.

I always need to know theres a toilet where i'm going. I even phone ahead sometimes if i am unsure. I am unlikely to go places without toilets because it increases my anxiety to the point where i am terrified of wetting myself :unsure:

Anyway, recently i have not been out for ages. I have become isolated because i have had some horrible experiences going out. I am especially struggling going out with my husband in the car, even though he understands and supports me. He started grabbing shopping on the way home from work and wanted to take me up to this supermarket to have a look round, so i finally got enough confidence to go with him one weekend. It took me ages to ready myself, but i was incredibly anxious and uncomfortable on the way. I start needing the loo (even though i never drink anything before going out places - its a coping mechanism). When we got there (5 min drive) i sat and waited for hubby to get baby out of the car. My legs were wobbly and i felt i couldn't stand. I got out slowly and, feeling like i really needed the toilet, i wobbled along behind him as we walked to the entrance. He sat baby in trolley and i walked ahead (i CANT faff around, it panics me so much). We got inside the entrance, and i just couldn't stand anymore. It was horrible. My anxiety was bubbling over and i felt the terror and the fear that i'd surely wet myself if i moved any further. I quickly retreated to a chair in the entrance door and almost cried. My husband tried so hard to encourage me, but all i could feel was the uncomfortable nagging feeling of needing the t